Walker Boys Unity Course, Lab 4 – 2D Mario Clone

It took me a while, but here it is: my 2D Mario clone.

Play the game!

Name: Thomas de Goede, aka Lord Herman

Timeframe: Tuesday Feb 21 – Tuesday Mar 6

Project Detail: A clone of the original Super Mario Brothers game by Nintendo. It has your usual side-scrolling platformer controls, enemies with some basic AI, power-ups, and two levels that involve falling down holes a lot.

Software Used: Unity 3, Notepad++, FileZilla, Paint.net (for the amazing star sprite I drew)

Final Thoughts: This project was a lot longer than the previous ones. I got stuck a few times trying to fix some bugs, but in the end I have a working game. I enjoyed the part where I got to write some AI for the gumbas, and I hope to learn some more AI programming in the future. Also, I think I’m beginning to learn how to approach bug fixing, which will probably come in handly later.

Time Breakdown:

Videos: 20 hours, 31 minutes.

Word Balloon: 28 minutes (planned 1 hour).

Flag Pole and Finish: 2 hours, 17 minutes (planned 2 hours).

Scene Transition Wipe: 15 minutes (planned 30 minutes).

Design the Next World: 2 hours, 21 minutes (planned 1 hour, 30 minutes).

Menu Screen: 59 minutes (planned 1 hour).

Bug fixing: 4 hours, 47 minutes.

Total: 31 hours, 38 minutes.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Walker Boys Unity Course, Lab 4 – 2D Mario Clone

  1. Hi Lordherman,
    I just tried downloading your game, but after half way through the download, i got an error message followed by error message to try again.

    I’m on #40 part 18. It’s taking me some time to get through, but so worthwhile in terms of learning.

    Lee

Leave a Reply

